Review

Review: The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

"In her life, her childhood, you snatched the food up, whatever it was, and ate it." Genre:  Fiction, short story Pages: 218 Published: 1st September, 2009 Rate: 3.5  Goodreads Synopsis The stories in this collection from Orange-Prize winner Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie straddle the cultures of Nigeria and the West. Her characters battle with the responsibilities… Continue reading Review: The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Blog Tour · Review

Blog Tour: Crossing In Time by DL Orton // Review

"Oh, come on. Drama is just life with the dull bits cut out." Genre: Fantasy Pages: 412 Published: 7th April, 2015 Rate: 4 ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis The past isn't over, it's an opening. The future isn't hidden, it's a trap. If she ever wants to see him again, she'll have to take the risk. Fall… Continue reading Blog Tour: Crossing In Time by DL Orton // Review

Review

Review: Love In The Time Of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez

“I’ll have plenty of time to rest when I die, but this eventuality is not yet part of my plans.” Genre: Fiction Pages: 348 Rate: 4🌟🌟🌟🌟 Published: 1985 Goodreads Synopsis In their youth, Florentino Ariza and Fermina Daza fall passionately in love. When Fermina eventually chooses to marry a wealthy, well-born doctor, Florentino is heartbroken,… Continue reading Review: Love In The Time Of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez

Review

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides ft LynnAnne, Pi and Michelle

"...to be happy you have to find variety in repetition; that to go forward you have to come back where you began." Genre: Fiction Pages: 529 Published: September 4, 2002 Rate: 3.5 ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis Middlesex tells the breathtaking story of Calliope Stephanides, and three generations of the Greek-American Stephanides family, who travel from a… Continue reading Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides ft LynnAnne, Pi and Michelle

Review

Review: Chocolat by Joanne Harris

"I sell dreams, small comforts, sweet harmless temptations to bring down a multitude of saints crash-crash-crashing among the hazels & nougatines..." Genre: Fiction Pages: 306 Published: March 4, 199 Rate: 3.5 ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis A timeless novel of a straitlaced village's awakening to joy and sensuality - every page offers a description of chocolate to… Continue reading Review: Chocolat by Joanne Harris

Review

Review: State Of Wonder by Ann Patchett

"One must not be shy where language is concerned." Genre: Fiction Pages: 353 Published: May 3, 2011 Rate: 3.5 ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis In a narrative replete with poison arrows, devouring snakes, scientific miracles, and spiritual transformations, "State of Wonder" presents a world of stunning surprise and danger, rich in emotional resonance and moral complexity. As… Continue reading Review: State Of Wonder by Ann Patchett

Review

Review: Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

"It didn't matter how many people were in the house. You didn't leave the goddamn door." Genre: Fiction Pages: 322 Published: September 13, 2016 Rate: 3 ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis The acclaimed, bestselling author—winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize—tells the enthralling story of how an unexpected romantic encounter irrevocably changes two families’ lives.… Continue reading Review: Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

Review

Review: Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

"It makes you wonder. All the brilliant things we might have done with our lives if only we suspected we knew how." Genre: Fiction Pages: 352 Published: May 22, 2001 Rate: 4.5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis In an unnamed South American country, a world-renowned soprano sings at a birthday party in honor of a visiting Japanese… Continue reading Review: Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

Review

Review: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

"Books became my closest confidants, finely ground lenses providing new views of the world." Genre: Nonfiction Pages: 208 Published: Jan 12, 2016 Rate: 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts… Continue reading Review: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi