Review

Review: State Of Wonder by Ann Patchett

"One must not be shy where language is concerned." Genre: Fiction Pages: 353 Published: May 3, 2011 Rate: 3.5 ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis In a narrative replete with poison arrows, devouring snakes, scientific miracles, and spiritual transformations, "State of Wonder" presents a world of stunning surprise and danger, rich in emotional resonance and moral complexity. As… Continue reading Review: State Of Wonder by Ann Patchett

Review

Review: Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

"It didn't matter how many people were in the house. You didn't leave the goddamn door." Genre: Fiction Pages: 322 Published: September 13, 2016 Rate: 3 ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis The acclaimed, bestselling author—winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize—tells the enthralling story of how an unexpected romantic encounter irrevocably changes two families’ lives.… Continue reading Review: Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

Review

Review: Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

"It makes you wonder. All the brilliant things we might have done with our lives if only we suspected we knew how." Genre: Fiction Pages: 352 Published: May 22, 2001 Rate: 4.5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis In an unnamed South American country, a world-renowned soprano sings at a birthday party in honor of a visiting Japanese… Continue reading Review: Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

Review

Review: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

"Books became my closest confidants, finely ground lenses providing new views of the world." Genre: Nonfiction Pages: 208 Published: Jan 12, 2016 Rate: 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts… Continue reading Review: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

Review

Review: A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah

"One thing about being lonesome is that you think too much, especially when there isn't much else you can do." Genre: Fiction, Memoir Pages: 229 Published: February 13th, 2007 Rate: 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis A first-person account, told by a 25-year-old veteran of the Sierra Leone conflict, this title is a heartbreaking, honest and important… Continue reading Review: A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah

Review

Review: I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

"We must live a full life, if only in our hearts." Genre: Nonfiction Pages: 240 Published: 17th November, 2014 Rate: 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education. On Tuesday,… Continue reading Review: I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

Review

Review: Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen

"There is thought, and then there is thinking about thoughts, and they don't feel the same." Genre: Nonfiction Pages: 169 Rate: 4 ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis In 1967, after a session with a psychiatrist she'd never seen before, eighteen-year-old Susanna Kaysen was put in a taxi and sent to McLean Hospital. She spent most of the… Continue reading Review: Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen

Review

Review: The Safety Of Objects by A. M Homes

"I didn't know sometimes you can't tell the difference between a real crazy and a regular person and that's what makes them crazy in the first place." Genre: Fiction, Short Stories Pages: 172 Rate: 2 ⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis The breakthrough story collection that established A. M. Homes as one of the most daring writers of… Continue reading Review: The Safety Of Objects by A. M Homes

Review

Review: The Last Straw by Ed Duncan

"No matter how far you travel, you can never change where you came from.” Genre: Thriller, Crime Fiction Pages: 221 Published: November 25th , 2017 Rate: 3.5 ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis When a teenage girl witnesses a carjacking gone bad, she is marked for death by a crime boss with no apparent motive. A black lawyer… Continue reading Review: The Last Straw by Ed Duncan

Bookish · Books · Review

Review: Blossom and The Beast 

'Blossom was a child of the sun. She sought heat and light, rather than the cool of the Alderwood' Pages: 320 Published: May 31,2016 Genre: Paranormal  Rate: 4 stars  Goodreads Synopsis Blossom Frane is only weeks away from her transformation. On her eighteenth birthday, she’ll find out her future branch of society and her totem,… Continue reading Review: Blossom and The Beast