Blog Tour · Review

Blog Tour: The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes // Review

“What kind of person had self-assurance that absolute? It was there in every aspect of his posture and word choice, in every interaction. Power was as much a fact of life for this guy as gravity.” 

Genre: Young Adult Mystery

Pages: 384

Publisher: Penguin

Published: 1st September, 2020

Rate: 4 ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Goodreads Synopsis

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out. Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why–or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man’s touch–and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he’s determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather’s last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

Disclaimer: A copy of the book was provided to me for review but all thoughts and opinions are honest and my own.

My Take

I remember picking up this book and not wanting to put it down. I read and finished it within a weekend and my short review is, I loved it, please do yourself a favor and pick it up.

The Inheritance Games is such an action packed book. From the characters to the story lines, my interest was piqued from the first page. I love how the characters have a different personalities and it shows with how they talk and engage with others. For a book that has so many characters, it made me enjoy the book more as they aren’t repetitive. Hats off to Jennifer for pulling this off.

The story line is so riveting and takes hold. As the title says, there are games played, puzzles to solve and riddles to make out. This as a reader had me on edge trying to figure it all out, keeping up with Avery and the boys that I had no chance of getting bored. The plot twist as well is something that I marveled at and couldn’t see coming. I love Jennifer’s writing, it’s easy to understand and follow through.

What I didn’t like or rather what made me not give it 5 start is that, towards the end I felt like the book was a bit rushed and the cliffhanger didn’t do it for me. pissed me off more than intrigue me and I just didn’t like it.

“I’d learned this much playing chess: the more complicated a person’s strategy seemed, the less likely an opponent was to look for simple answers.”

The Inheritance Games is such a thrilling book, something of a mixture between Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl. What more could you ask for?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.