Books · From My Bookshelf

FromMyBookshelf: 8 Books For You To Read This Valentine

Hey reader, I hope you have been reading some really good books lately. It being valentine’s week I have seen a lot of great romance recommendations and I thought to add to the many lists out there. I don’t read as much romance because I get bored and/or pissed easily with certain tropes (a post… Continue reading FromMyBookshelf: 8 Books For You To Read This Valentine

Review

Review: State Of Wonder by Ann Patchett

"One must not be shy where language is concerned." Genre: Fiction Pages: 353 Published: May 3, 2011 Rate: 3.5 ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis In a narrative replete with poison arrows, devouring snakes, scientific miracles, and spiritual transformations, "State of Wonder" presents a world of stunning surprise and danger, rich in emotional resonance and moral complexity. As… Continue reading Review: State Of Wonder by Ann Patchett

Review

Review: Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

"It didn't matter how many people were in the house. You didn't leave the goddamn door." Genre: Fiction Pages: 322 Published: September 13, 2016 Rate: 3 ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis The acclaimed, bestselling author—winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize—tells the enthralling story of how an unexpected romantic encounter irrevocably changes two families’ lives.… Continue reading Review: Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

Review

Review: Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

"It makes you wonder. All the brilliant things we might have done with our lives if only we suspected we knew how." Genre: Fiction Pages: 352 Published: May 22, 2001 Rate: 4.5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis In an unnamed South American country, a world-renowned soprano sings at a birthday party in honor of a visiting Japanese… Continue reading Review: Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

Review

Review: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

"Books became my closest confidants, finely ground lenses providing new views of the world." Genre: Nonfiction Pages: 208 Published: Jan 12, 2016 Rate: 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts… Continue reading Review: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

Review

Review: A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah

"One thing about being lonesome is that you think too much, especially when there isn't much else you can do." Genre: Fiction, Memoir Pages: 229 Published: February 13th, 2007 Rate: 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis A first-person account, told by a 25-year-old veteran of the Sierra Leone conflict, this title is a heartbreaking, honest and important… Continue reading Review: A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah

Review

Review: Men Explain Things To Me And Other Essays by Rebecca Solnit

"Filling in the blanks replaces the truth that we don't entirely know with the false sense that we do." Genre: Nonfiction Pages: 130 Published: May 20, 2014 Rate: 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis Rebecca Solnit's essay 'Men Explain Things to Me' has become a touchstone of the feminist movement, inspired the term 'mansplaining', and established Solnit… Continue reading Review: Men Explain Things To Me And Other Essays by Rebecca Solnit