Review

Review: State Of Wonder by Ann Patchett

"One must not be shy where language is concerned." Genre: Fiction Pages: 353 Published: May 3, 2011 Rate: 3.5 ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis In a narrative replete with poison arrows, devouring snakes, scientific miracles, and spiritual transformations, "State of Wonder" presents a world of stunning surprise and danger, rich in emotional resonance and moral complexity. As… Continue reading Review: State Of Wonder by Ann Patchett

Review

Review: Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

"It didn't matter how many people were in the house. You didn't leave the goddamn door." Genre: Fiction Pages: 322 Published: September 13, 2016 Rate: 3 ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis The acclaimed, bestselling author—winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize—tells the enthralling story of how an unexpected romantic encounter irrevocably changes two families’ lives.… Continue reading Review: Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

Review

Review: Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

"It makes you wonder. All the brilliant things we might have done with our lives if only we suspected we knew how." Genre: Fiction Pages: 352 Published: May 22, 2001 Rate: 4.5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis In an unnamed South American country, a world-renowned soprano sings at a birthday party in honor of a visiting Japanese… Continue reading Review: Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

Review

Review: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

"Books became my closest confidants, finely ground lenses providing new views of the world." Genre: Nonfiction Pages: 208 Published: Jan 12, 2016 Rate: 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Synopsis For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts… Continue reading Review: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi